Greg and I decided to have an adventure at the MT Market.  Austin has a few large Asian groceries.  I’ve only been to MT once and didn’t get to really see it all that time.

Walking in we were both overwhelmed with its size and selection. The fruits, veggies, canned goods, vacuum packed random foods, fresh seafood and meat, and pretty much anything else you could want is in this store. It was insane. I ended up taking my camera out and just trying to take pictures of everything. After 3 hours we ended up with a cart full of things new to us and were excited.

Some of the highlights of our cart were:

the case of coconuts -awesome!- coconut water is superior recovery fuel.

a large durian fruit, a notorius fruit known for its rotting flesh smell and sweet taste, it is actually outlawed in some places because of the smell. Prickily little punk. I can not tell you how long I’ve wanted to try this out, mainly because my favorite chef of all time Anthony Bourdain dug in to one and spoke of its wonder in one of his show episodes. I’ll post up as soon as we decide to cut it open.

dried seseame anchovies (Greg’s pic)

fuzzy melon- I snagged it because it looke like watermelon but when I tasted it I went straight to google to find out more. It is more like a winter squash than a typical melon.

Here are some of the pictures from the market this weekend and some random other pictures. Enjoy and smile from all the blessings we have!

Durian Fruit

Durian Fruit

IMGP1129

MT Market Austin

IMGP1109

Orange Lavaburst...with 0% juice. Just sad.

IMGP1111

Biggest Shrimp I've EVER Seen! Look like a cross between a shrimp and a lobster. They have blue legs.

Got to love the massive ovaltine!  Didnt expect to turn the corner from the frozen eel and dried shrimp snacks to see these.

Got to love the massive ovaltine! Didnt expect to turn the corner from the frozen eel and dried shrimp snacks to see these.

IMGP1117

Who doesnt want fish balls?

Who doesnt want fish balls?

As a microbiolgist working as a mycologist,  I love the variety of dried fungus.

As a microbiolgist working as a mycologist, I love the variety of dried fungus.

Fresh from the coast and trying to venture out of the boxes.

Fresh from the coast and trying to venture out of the boxes.

IMGP1113

Vegetarian Pork Loaf, Vegetarian Oysters, Vegetarian Smoked Drum Sticks, and Vegan Shrimp Balls

Vegetarian Pork Loaf, Vegetarian Oysters, Vegetarian Smoked Drum Sticks, and Vegan Shrimp Balls

Vegan Crap Meat Slices, Vegetarian Ham, and Vegetarian Ham Paste (paste? what?)

Vegan Crap Meat Slices, Vegetarian Ham, and Vegetarian Ham Paste (paste? what?)

IMGP1125

IMGP1126

Not sure what pennywort is but I'm going to look it up.

Not sure what pennywort is but I'm going to look it up.

The colors of various sweets- mainly made from sugar and rice flour.

The colors of various sweets- mainly made from sugar and rice flour.

