I know I’m always writing about how lucky we are here in Austin but today the ATX shines happy!  It is Bike to Work Day in celebration of Bike Month.  Today there were 13 breakfast celebration stops all over town for the bike commuters.  I hit 6 of them on my 16 mile ride in this morning and it was so wonderful to see so many on two wheels.  I played around on a new route and really enjoyed the morning.

Did anyone else hit some of the bike to work stops?  I made 6 and got some nice goodies!  I love bike to work day because everyone is smiling.  You see people in their cars with the windows rolled up, blasting the air conditioner, and looking very unhappy.  I did not see one single cyclist with a sour look on their face.

I love Bike To Work Day because it usually kick starts my commute season.  I often fall off the commuter wheels in the winter when I have to get up early for long runs.  I did my first bike to work the year after my first triathlon.  It made me so happy and I felt so empowered- much like doing my first tri did back in 2005 at Danskin.  It is a wonderful way to wake up and a gift that the city has given me to make safe routes and rideable paths in to my work.  I get to see people as they are waking up and getting the paper, parents as they are trying to get their kids in the cars for school, cats lounging outside, wildflowers hit by the morining rays.  It is a blessing!

HOORAY FOR BIKES!!

Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling.  ~James E. Starrs

The bicycle is the most civilized conveyance known to man.  Other forms of transport grow daily more nightmarish.  Only the bicycle remains pure in heart.  ~Iris Murdoch, The Red and the Green

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race.  ~H.G. Wells

A bicycle does get you there and more…. And there is always the thin edge of danger to keep you alert and comfortably apprehensive.  Dogs become dogs again and snap at your raincoat; potholes become personal.  And getting there is all the fun.  ~Bill Emerson, “On Bicycling,” Saturday Evening Post, 29 July 1967

[T]he bicycle will accomplish more for women’s sensible dress than all the reform movements that have ever been waged.  ~Author Unknown, from Demerarest’s Family Magazine, 1895

