Though I like to keep this blog upbeat and try my best to not toss too much negativity in the bowl- with the exception of my various “stupid trainers” or “stupid diets” rants, for my sanity  I feel compelled to post this story.  It is digging a carcinogenic hole in my soul to not post it (or maybe it is just the red onions from breakfast) and  I am resisting full force the urge to bang my head multiple times on the computer screen, hoping I’ll wake up and this story will all have been part of a bad dream.

I guess this can go under that same type of category.   I get so aggravated about stupid trainer/stupid diets/stupid people because I really and truly do care a whole lot.

My biggest pet peeve is people not taking responsibility for themselves and though this story saddens me, it angers me to no end.

Have we learned nothing from Wall-E?

walle(I just saw that wonderful movie so it is on my mind but I think there is a whole lot to learn from it)

The story I’ll link to is about family from Blackburn, UK that receives £22,000 in taxpayer money ($37,95.20) because they claim they are “too fat to work”.   On top of that, the families recent newsworthy outcry is to demand more government funds because the allocated amount is too little to support their adiposed lifestyle.

They have pointed to heredity as being the culprit, not the “cereal for breakfast, bacon butties for lunch and microwave pies with mashed potato or chips for dinner” or their love of  “nibbling on biscuits”. This, “see, we’re all fat…it must be our genes so you cant blame us” mentality has worked for the past 11 years, allowing the family to be jobless but make a decent wage while being lifelined to their television sets.  Of course dieting is out of the question for this family because the constraints of their lifestyle leaves them lamenting, “we don’t have time” and that diet food is too expensive and doesn’t taste good.

What do they spend their precious hours on? (while there are people in their own country going hungry and working 2 or 3 jobs to make ends meet?)

“We love TV. It’s on from the moment we get up. Often I’m so tired from watching TV, I have to have a nap.”

I’m not sure how much of this goes on in the US but, as we are the forerunners in obesity vogue, I’m pretty sure it does.  Figures from the UK Department of Work and Pensions, stated that 2,130 people are asking for incapacity benefits as a direct result of obesity.

For the full story, please read here.(*note, 1 stone=14 pounds)

Ok, I can breath better now and will go think of happy things like puppy dogs and unicorns and the Foo Fighters.

