nutrition-booksI’ve been traveling to races a lot this past month or so for races and they’ve all been long distance drives with me as happy passenger.  I’ve also wanted to full body tackle my television set on a number of occasions from anger brought by the completely useless amount of garbage which is prevails primetime (PBS and 24 excluded).  I spend many, many nights not turning on my TV unless I know of a good PBS program.  These two things have had me reading a lot and really enjoying it the pages.

  • I recently read the book Fatland.  I already talked about it here but recommend it to anyone who wants an interesting nutrition-public health read.
  • 11111We Want to Live by Aajonus Vonderplantiz.  This truly was a book I couldn’t put down and though I’d try to get to sleep early many nights, it kept me up way past my bedtime.  This book was really fascinating and tells a great story.  Vonderplantiz, through a story about his son’s recovery from a post car wreck vegetable state, details the importance of primal dieting and eating of raw foods.  Caveman and I have both been doing as much raw foods as we can lately.  He eats raw red meat however, since I am new to eating animal I have not ventured beyond seafood cooked or raw.  Many of the points the author makes in the book are exceptionally interesting and the story weaves you through his own experiences as well as his patients.  Within the first 15 pages, I already had a list of items to get at the grocery store, if I could.  Some of the basic ingredients of what he recommends, however are not available because where I live, the sale of unpasteurized dairy products is illegal (big rant for another time).  I will warn that there are two times he does float off away from mainstream and talks a bit of hallucinations but being a scientist and specifically a microbiologist, there were only a few times when I felt he may have been stretching the truth or misinterpreting data.   The book did help me think more about some things that have bothered me since I was way back in school, learning all the basics of health, medicine, and disease.  We often forget our initial neophytic awe and questions and take what the professionals give us as fact rather than something that should be questioned and understood fully.  I wont go in to them now but there are a number of things the medical and scientific community as a whole has accepted and practiced which should be deeply re-questioned.  The book  reiterates the idea of eating raw food (real food) and healing with food because cooking food denatures and alters the enzymes and modern medicine makes toxic substances in our body which create more illness.  I’ve always been against taking modern medicine if I can help it.  I believe my body is a strong complex system designed to keep itself in balance- the simplest life forms adhere to this yet we often ignore this intricate, highly specialized system when we reach to the medicine cabinet.  The biggest statement that has stuck with me from the book is that modern medicine tends to ignore the cause of diseases and looks to cure the symptoms.  They misdiagnose and mistreat because they do not fully understand why the disease manifested in the first place.  Take a simple headache- we don’t get a headache because of aspirin deficiency yet we treat it with aspirin, not getting to the root of the problem.  I’d recommend this book to everyone and anyone.
  • 41r0ry64bvl_ss500_Good Calories, Bad Calories by Gary Taubes.  I previously posted his article from Mother Earth News that talks about the misguided diet industries insistence on low calorie, low fat food for weight loss.  The book, as well as his lecture from UC Berkley get more in to the scientific basis of his statements.  I am in the very beginning of the book but since I’ve read the article, watched the lecture, and have researched tons of his statements, I am getting a review of the information now.  When I finish, I will post again later.
  • 2222The Revolution Will Not Be Microwaved: Inside America’s Undergrown Food Movements by Sandor Ellix Katz.  I began this book last night and am still in the introduction but am excited from the first few pages.  It has already addressed issuse with governmental regulation of foods as well as the modern diet’s  emphasis on supermarket shelved foods rather than fresh, whole foods.  There is no room for the modern baker and  no money to be had as one with all the red tape and paperwork that goes along with starting a legitamite buisness.
  • 222222 The Paleo Diet for Athletes:  A Nutritional Formula for Peak Athletic Performance, by Loren Cordain and Joe Friel.  Joe Friel, author of so many triathlon and distance training books, is teamed up with the orignial Paleo Diet writer for this book specifically for atheletes.  I have not begun reading this yet but did a quick flip through and saw that there are numbers of recipes.  This is actually Greg/Caveman’s book so I’ll get his opinion on it and then begin my reading.

  • 111111King Corn (movie) by Michael Pollan and Ian Cheney.  This movie investigates the path of corn in America from planting, government subsidies, use in high fructose corn syrup, animal feed, and the average consumer diet.  It is extremely shocking on how prevalent corn is in the American diet- in places you’d never believe.  The directors talk to scientists, dietitians, politicians, farmers, and average people.  I would recommend this to anyone interested in how the government is in control of what we eat and who gets the profits.
  • Up next-

111112 Fat Head The Movie, a docudrama in the same vein as Supersize Me in which comedian Tom Naught attacks many of the diet “givens” of the day.

111113The Sugar Fix:  The High-Fructose Fallout That Is Making You Fat, by Richard Johnson and Timothy Gower. This is in pre-order right now.  Lately I have been researching as much about fructose and HFCS as possible and this will be another addition to my self education.

2222221 Nutrition and Physical Degeneration by Weston A. Price.  I’m a nerd, a big, big nerd and my excitement related to this book once again proves it!

From Amazon, “An epic study demonstrating the importance of whole food nutrition, and the degeneration and destruction that comes from a diet of processed foods.”


