Here are some interesting stories in the news I’ve recently read.

  • Evidence that poorer blood glucose control is strongly associated with poorer memory function–  A study recently published by Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center in the journal Diabetes Care links higher blood sugar levels with lower brain function in Diabetics  The research found an inverse relationship between average blood glucose levels over a period of two to three months and  scores on four cognitive tests.
  • More Vitamin D praise– Mr.VitD seems to be the star in the last year.  I have my own theories why we’ve been hearing and seeing more and more of a push for this vitamin but a recent study has tied D to muscle power in adolescent girls.

51s5z1rj4wl_bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_Also, I just finished the book Fatland and am planning to reread parts of it. It really is a fascinating book that highlights issues of obesity from the evils of  HFCS, supersized foods, advertising, to the unfortunate removal of activity from schools.  I would recommend it to anyone interested in who, what’s, where, when and why’s of American obesity.

From all of this and my recent posts, you may see that I’m on an Anti-sugar/tv/fastfood/laziness annoyance right now.  I’m a bit annoyed about people getting mad that their WiiFit is telling them their BMI makes obese but that’s a whole different rant. I’ll post a video I just saw, because I’m old school and didn’t watch the Superbowl nor have I really wanted any tv in the last week- it is brilliant and makes me adore Alex B even more.

