Don’t believe everything you read.  Question everything.  blah, blah, blah…

rainmaker

Yeah, I know you’ve heard it before but I think that we are very trusting people and we tend to believe what is in print.

I like to think that there are people in magazines and newspapers who truly do spend time fact checking and playing honestly.  I’m not saying there aren’t but when you grab the most recent copy of Muscle Fitness Her’s or Men’s Health, remember that they aren’t really making their money off of charging you $4.25 at the checkout counter.

They make their money by getting advertisements.

Same goes true with many fitness shows.  Have you seen any recent episodes of Biggest Looser?  I caught a little bit the other night and it felt like the whole thing was a long scripted commercial with Julian Michaels telling me that the key to loosing those extra lbs was in reaching for a piece of Trident chewing gum or Fiber 1 cereal.  It sickened me because it wasn’t educating or inspiring, it was misinforming to sell product. I guess the plug worked because I remember what brands they were trying to peddle much like a snake-oil salesman.

yeah, that makes sense...

yeah, that makes sense...

I love listening to The FitCast while doing my work.  One of the hosts commented that the articles in the super muscle magazines are written to make you believe the guys on the cover aren’t on steroids.  I had never thought of that angle either.

Want to read more about how the magazines truly are prophets of consumerism?  Ha, didn’t mean the stupid pun there with profit/prophets but now it is my post’s title.  Read the article below and you’ll look at those glossy pages a little differently next time you pick them up.

Confessions of a Former
Women’s Magazine Writer

I’m not saying that all magazines do this.  I’d like to place those hopes in a jar right next to the one of unicorns and leprechauns.  I’m sure there are wonderful, no-angled magazines out there but if you aren’t taken the time to question them, how will you know?

