Eat real food.

untitled-1-copy

yeah, it is simple but look around at what you eat.  If you cant grow it, it is probably not real food.  If it comes in a box, it is not real food.  If it comes with preservatives, not real food.  Sure, you could make up your own mayonnaise at home but that is ten times different then grabbing a jar of Hellamenn’s off of the market shelf.

Forget thinking about calories, fat, protein, fiber, starches,  macro and micro nutrients for now and just focus on real food.  Mac-N-Cheese is not real food, Stofferls Lean Cuisine is not real food, tootsie rolls are not real food.  Yes, you can grow potatoes but fries aren’t really real food if they are deep fried in oil.  Fruit, nuts, berries, animal, grains are real food.

If something can stay looking new and fresh after a long period of time do you want to put that in your body?

If something can stay looking new and fresh after a long period of time do you want to put that in your body?

When I first read or heard Graeme Street say this, though I’m a vegetarian and do as much organic food as possible, I paused and had to think about it.  I thought I mainly ate real food but when I began to look around…yeah, Morning Star Farms veggie patties are loaded with preservatives and additives and, well, just aren’t real food.  Since then I’ve heard it over and over again from the nutrition and fitness people I respect the most.

Eat Real Food- that simple.

I try my best to adhere to this but I still reach for a workout bar or jello snack at times.  I’m trying to get processed foods out of my life.  Trying-

check out this post from Leigh Peele on real food and healthy food.

Though I’m not a fan of their diet and exercise advice on a whole, this is a video talking about the 4-year old burger and fries.

