Just wanted to quickly post some info from the UC-B lecture I mentioned below.  He is now talking from an epidemiological standpoint about the relation of obesity to environmental factors.  An easy conclusion, and logical one at that, is to point towards more calories causing obesity.  To further that, affluence has been noted as a cause of the epidemic. I am a epidemiological nerd so I’m totally engrossed in this.

Right now he is just going over cases that break the accepted obesity cause-effect link.  Here’s one that I had to stop, pause, rewind, and review a couple of times.

  • In 1962-63, Trinidad- US Government agency team went to study malnutrition
  • found 1/3 of women over 25 obese
  • described as, “potentiality serious medical problem in women”
  • Per capita daily diet is less than 2000 calories with 21% fat, fewer than the United Nations’ Food and Agriculture Organization recommendation to avoid malnutrition.

Ok, interesting stuff. As I keep reading and listening I keep coming up with more questions.  Basically I’m doing reasearch on this theory that low carb, unproccessed, and unpackaged food is the healthy way to go for weight loss and more importantly, overall health verse the low-fat approach.  Here’s my first question-

Why are vegetarians put in the stereotype as waifish and skinny?  Is this stereotype true?  If it is, how could low carb, high protein be right since most of the calories come from carb foods and not as much protein?

This just came to me as I’ve been reading through his stuff.  Not agruing for or against it yet.  I’ve been vegetarian for 15 years but recently switched to eating seafood again.  I know lots of various sizes and shapes of vegetarians.

More notes of interest:

  • (from the NY times article) Researchers will be suitably scientific describing the limitations of their own experiments, and then will cite something as gospel truth because they read it in a magazine. The classic example is the statement heard repeatedly that 95 percent of all dieters never lose weight, and 95 percent of those who do will not keep it off. This will be correctly attributed to the University of Pennsylvania psychiatrist Albert Stunkard, but it will go unmentioned that this statement is based on 100 patients who passed through Stunkard’s obesity clinic during the Eisenhower administration.
