I’ve been doing a whole lot of reading lately.  I’ve also felt like banging my head against something really, really hard.   512616207_64f34241f0

Ever feel like all this nutritional stuff is controlled by a man behind a big curtain in the land of Oz?  That they change what is scientifically good and healthy by the direction of a weather vane? Carbs are bad, Carbs good,  no, no, wait carbs are bad again.  Meat good- meat bad.  Eat this- eat that.  Once coconut oil was the worst thing you could put in your body, now it is as healthy as olive oil, which for now is deemed a super healthy fat though we all know fats are bad….wait, are they?

Now I love conspiracy theories but is it crazy to think there might be a link to the food pyramid and governmental farm subsidation? I mean, couldn’t that explain the flip-flop extremes?  It seems over and over I find one article that actually has some scientific fact to back it up, get all excited about a new study that is the completely opposite of everything I’ve been programed to think, and then the next click brings me to another article which touts the complete anti-prophesy to the one I just read.  Just take a look at how many pure contridictions face you while waiting in the checkout line at the supermarket.   One month the cover of Woman’s world will tell you all you need is a miracle bracelet to loose fat then the next month is is a special “secret” tea from South Africa.  I know you wouldn’t take advice from these since it is sold along side Brittany’s latest trasherotsy picture on it but sometimes the claims make you look twice and wonder.

womans_world_cover-173x2447

womansworldcoverweb3

Being a scientist, I am skeptical of what I read in most magazines.  When someone in Marie Claire (don’t know if I’ve ever really read this mag) spits out the newest scientific jargon, I cringe because I know many people out there believe statements if it is typed up and printed on glossy paper with pretty pictures next to it.  Not saying that it isn’t true, but take a deep breath before getting too excited about the new diet revolution or the spectacular way to engage those hard to reach muscles and make your own decision.  You know there are/were those out there who read the cabbage soup diet and think/thought, “Hey, this is a great idea- all of my problems will be solved now!”  While you’re out buying that miracle weight loss bracelet and secret tea, go ahead and make sure you pick up about 5 tons of cabbage too.

Recent reading has been from Mother Earth News. I’ve been blessed by a subscription to it from my father and have been soaking every page up like a sponge and dreaming of ideals- only problem, now I want to build a 1200 sqft house for $4,000, buy a goat to have raw milk daily, raise some chickens, plant herloom tomatoes, and fuel my electrical needs completely from a bike generator…one step at a time, one step at a time.

Here’s a quick rundown of some articles I’ve been reading through and trying to research lately.

I will be big on saying that if you read these, question every line.  Homage of reason is a whole lot more useful than any type of blind-faith  (shout out to T-boy Jefferson there people).  I’m just putting these up as things I’m reading and want to do more research on- I will fully admit, not all of these articles come from truly unbiased or reputable sites, i.e. the pro coconut oil article from the Coconut Research Center.

Weight loss a phone call away, study finds
Obese Americans now outweigh the merely overweight
Overlap may exist between sweets and drugs
Blood Sugar Control Linked to Memory Decline, Study Says
Raw Milk Renegade
How stuff works- Insulin and Fat Storage
How a PR Campaign Led to Unhealthy Diets
Articles by Rachel Cosgrove, Jen Heath, and Cassandra Forsythe on Figure Athlete
FDA Orders Dr. Joseph Mercola to Stop Illegal Claims (I’ve been a Mercola reader for a while)
Confessions of a Former Women’s Magazine Writer

And the one that has got me excited right now.  It reiterates some things I thought I knew but also brings it back to simpler, old school type eating.  The following three are all by Gary Taubes.  The first one appeared in my Mother Earth News and got me sparked.

Good Calories, Bad Calories: What Really Makes Us Fat?

From the New York Times –

What if It’s All Been a Big Fat Lie?

Here is a lecture I’m currently listening to (in my headphones at this exact minute)  that he did for UC Berkley.   Even if you aren’t that interested in the topic, click on it and check out all the amazing lectures UC-B has up on the site.

The Quality of Calories: What Makes Us Fat and Why Nobody Seems to Care

These are some interesting articles to read.  Go ahead and enjoy them and feel free to comment and add some of what you have been reading.

