I’m a list maker, constant organizer, plan of attack type of person.  I like to figure out how I’m going to do things when it comes to my workouts in advance.  It helps to motivate me and keep me on track.  I was just reminded of one part of my workouts I’ve sorely missed out on planning this morning as I was sipping my second cup of black tea, dreaming of a Red Bull.  I haven’t been planning my rest.  Here’s my list of things to do over the holiday:

1. Get 8-10 hours of sleep a night.  Use Hammer Nutrition Products REM Caps to help get full quality sleep.

2. Follow my p90x workouts. (this is the big one)

3. Set up upper body weights program for mom.

4. Walk dogs.

5. Put more veggies on my plate than anything else like carbs and fat.

6. Focus on high protein meals

rootsposter1Related to #5 above, I’m making a veggie plate for to go along with Christmas dinner.  I’ve been vegetarian for many, many years so my family is use to sides of veggies but when you replace animal with twice baked potatoes full of butter and sour cream or broccoli with extra cheese sauce, it does nothing for your health.  Last year I forced my mother in to letting me make one of my favorite veggies dishes, brussel sprouts.  I love them and they fill you up with little calories, good fiber, and lots of taste…if cooked right.  This year I have decided that I’d like more options for my main other than the super yummy- but not always good for you- polenta.  I’m making a baked veggie dish which includes everyone’s most hated vegetables!  This is exciting to me but I’ll forgive you if you dont have the same passion as you read these lines.

Whole Foods provided me with a neat little spread of root veggies and others that people always say they hate but probably have never had cooked right.  Here’s the list of yummy- beets, brussel sprouts, celery root, yams, turnips, rutagega, parsips, and fennel.  I’ve never made half of these so my plan is to just cut, season, lightly oil, and bake away.  I know, I know…if you only knew my address, you’d be pounding your fists on my door!

